Seven hundred and ninety-five days after the Bengal Warriors beat Dabang Delhi K.C. in the Season 7 final, vivo Pro Kabaddi is back and will serve three tantalizing fixtures on the opening day for fans to feast on.

Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the entire vivo PKL season will be held in a bio-bubble at Sheraton Grand in Bengaluru. Check out what to expect on the opening night of vivo PKL season 8.

Match 1: U Mumba vs Bengaluru Bulls

The season will commence with a blockbuster battle, as Fazel Atrachali and U Mumba will take on Pawan Sehrawat and the Bengaluru Bulls. The Iranian superstar will captain U Mumba for the third season running, while Sehrawat, the highest points scorer of Season 7, is in his maiden campaign as the full-time captain of the Bengaluru Bulls.

The two teams met twice in Season 7, with the Bulls coming out on top on both occasions. Both teams were semi-finalists last season, with U Mumba falling to eventual champions, the Bengal Warriors and the Bulls losing narrowly to Dabang Delhi K.C.

Neither team will celebrate for anything less than the title this season.

U Mumba vs Bengaluru Bulls head-to-head

U Mumba and Bengaluru Bull have played each other 14 times. U Mumba have won 10 of those matches while Bengaluru Bulls have prevailed on four occasions.

Match 2: Telugu Titans vs Tamil Thalaivas


The second match will pit Siddharth Desai and the Telugu Titans against Surjeet Singh and the Tamil Thalaivas. These two teams finished at the bottom of the standings in Season 7 and will want to turn their fortunes around in Season 8.

The Titans and Thalaivas met twice last season. The Thalaivas won the first game 39-26, but the Titans avenged their loss with a 35-30 win in the reverse fixture. The Titans haven’t made it to the vivo PKL playoffs since Season 4, while the Thalaivas have never played a playoff fixture in their three seasons in the league. Both teams will look to end their playoff drought in Season 8.

Telugu Titans vs Tamil Thalaivas head-to-head

The Telugu Titans have won five of their eight matches against the Tamil Thalaivas, who have won the other three.

Match 3: Bengal Warriors vs U.P. Yoddha


The main event on vivo PKL Season 8's opening night will pit reigning champions Bengal Warriors against the new-look U.P. Yoddha. The Warriors retained the core roster that led them to the title last season, while U.P. Yoddha made the biggest splash in vivo PKL auction history by landing two-time MVP Pardeep Narwal.

U.P. Yoddha started Season 7 slow and were beaten 48-17 in their season opener against the Warriors. They did manage to avenge the loss in the second meeting between the two sides, beating the Bengal Warriors 32-29. Boasting of Season 7’s highest-scoring corner duo and the all-time leading points scorer in vivo PKL history, U.P. Yoddha have the tools to go all the way this season. The Bengal Warriors also have the firepower to become the second team to defend their vivo PKL crown. It will be a fascinating battle on the opening night between outstanding rosters.

Bengal Warriors vs U.P. Yoddha head-to-head

U.P. Yoddha and Bengal Warriors have played against each other eight times. Warriors lead the all-time head-to-head series 3-2. The other three games have finished in a tie.

vivo PKL Schedule for Wednesday, December 22

Match 1: U Mumba vs Bengaluru Bulls, 7:30 PM IST

Match 2: Telugu Titans vs Tamil Thalaivas, 8:30 PM IST

Match 3: Bengal Warriors vs U.P. Yoddha, 9:30 PM IST

Where to watch vivo Pro Kabaddi live?

Catch all the LIVE action from vivo Pro Kabaddi Season 8 on the Star Sports Network and LIVE streaming on Disney+Hotstar.

Follow Pro Kabaddi on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter for all the latest updates!