Bengal Warriors rode on captain Maninder Singh’s stunning display to pick up a 43-23 win over Puneri Paltan at the DOME@NSCI SVP Stadium in Mumbai on Monday. Maninder scored his first Super 10 of VIVO Pro Kabaddi Season 7 and was well supported by Mohammad Nabibakhsh (8 raid points) and Rinku Narwal (5 tackle points).

An early All-Out by Bengal Warriors just 8 minutes into the match gave them an early advantage with the score reading 11-4. Maninder and Mohammad Nabibakhsh were the standout performers of this period, with the former putting in the first Super Raid of the night, taking out three Puneri Paltan defenders.

Manjeet’s successful tackle on K. Prapanjan and Pankaj Mohite’s touch point on Jeeva Kumar, both in Do-or-Die situations, brought Puneri Paltan to 7 points but another 3-point Super Raid by Maninder gave his team a 9-point advantage. Puneri Paltan’s Girish Maruti Ernak’s Super Tackle on Nabibakhsh was answered by two successful Rinku Narwal tackles, first on Manjeet and then on Pawan Kadian, as Bengal Warriors held on to their advantage at half time with the scores reading 18-9.

The second half began with another Puneri Paltan All-Out as Bengal Warriors’ lead increased to 13 points. Maninder also reached his Super 10 just three minutes into the second period.

A third Super Raid of the match, this time by Nabibakhsh, brought about another Puneri Paltan All-Out just three minutes later as the Bengal Warriors firmly took control of the game at 33-11.  Sushant Sail and Pankaj Mohite then took advantage of Bengal Warriors’ high defensive line to pick up some quick raid points. Mohite, in particular, looked to be in good touch as he put in three back-to-back successful raids to reduce Bengal Warriors down to three men on the mat with three minutes left on the clock

But once Mohite was Super Tackled by Baldev Singh, Bengal Warriors regained their momentum and went on the win the match by a comfortable 20-point margin.

Top Performers:

Bengal Warriors –

Best Raider – Maninder Singh (14 Raid Points)

Best Defender – Rinku Narwal (5 Tackle Points)

Patna Pirates –

Best Raider – Pankaj Mohite (6 Raid Points)

Best Defender – Girish Maruti Ernak (3 Tackle Points)