The Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) has announced the final 12-member men’s and women’s squad for the 19th Asian Games to be held in Hangzhou, China. The kabaddi event of the Asian Games will take place from October 2nd to October 7th, 2023.

The Indian men's team consists of the prominent names from Pro Kabaddi. These PKL stars have shown good form in the recently played Asian Kabaddi Championship and other domestic tournaments in India.

In the raiding department, the Indian team features players like Naveen Kumar from Dabang Delhi K.C., Arjun Deshwal from Jaipur Pink Panthers, and Pawan Sehrawat, who are reliable in the attack. Puneri Paltan’s star raider, Aslam Inamdar, has also been rewarded for his top-class performance in the Asian Kabaddi Championship and has secured a spot in the Indian team.

Patna Pirates’ seasoned campaigner, Sachin, who is excellent with his do-or-die raids has also been named in the squad. The young prodigy from Puneri Paltan, Akash Shinde, has also made it to the Indian kabaddi team.

In defence, the Indian team will have the services of Pro Kabaddi Season 9 captain, Sunil Kumar, the other two cover defenders who will join forces are Surjeet Singh and Telugu Titans’ Parvesh Bhainswal. The Elite Retained Player (ERP) from U.P. Yoddhas - Nitesh Kumar will handle the right corner’s duty for the Indian team and he will be accompanied by another strong corner defender in the form of Vishal Bhardwaj. Nitin Rawal, who was a part of the Indian team in the Asian Kabaddi Championship, has retained his place for the Asian Games and will be seen playing his part in both departments.

The India women's team also appears strong, with some well-known names in the line-up, and they are expected to perform well. Sonali Shingate, Pushpa, and Priyanka will be among the top names to watch out for in the event.

Indian men’s kabaddi squad for 19th Asian Games 2022:

Nitesh Kumar, Parvesh Bhainswal, Sachin, Surjeet Singh, Vishal Bhardwaj, Arjun Deshwal, Aslam Inamdar, Naveen Kumar, Pawan Sehrawat, Sunil Kumar, Nitin Rawal & Akash Shinde

Indian women’s kabaddi squad for 19th Asian Games 2022:

Akshima, Jyoti, Pooja, Priyanka, Pushpa, Pooja, Sakshi Kumari, Ritu Negi, Nidhi Sharma, Sushma Sharma, Snehal Shinde & Sonali Shingate